All photos on this site courtesy of Siraaj Mohammed.

Motion Complex

Motion Complex is a contemporary jazz ensemble, consisting of band members Robert Sudall (piano), Grant Russell (bass) and David Lande-Sudall (drums). Formerly known as the Robert Sudall Trio and hailing from the north of England, the group re-branded in 2015, as a result of developing new material and exploring different directions in their performances.

The band places much emphasis on space and intimacy in its music, using strong melodic motifs and subtle textures as key components in the compositions. Influences as wide and varied as Tord Gustavsen, Neil Cowley, Olafur Arnalds and Nils Frahm are just some of the artists who have made impressions on the musical direction of Motion Complex.